DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do I drop table?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    51

    I got 3 Oracle books, and I still can't find how to drop the damn table.

    maybe this isn't for me. but then again, I hate flippin burgers..

    help please..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    132
    drop table my_table cascade (to deal with constraints)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    It's more like:
    drop table table_name cascade constraints;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    41

    Wink table drop

    sql> drop table emp;

    or if its relational with foregin keys or primary keys then

    sql> drop table emp cascade constraints;
    Best Regards,
    Harsh Shah

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    51
    thanks!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    On the other hand if you ever want only the data to be droped and would want to preserve the schema, then you do a tuncate on the table.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    462
    tRuncate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width