DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ORA-00119: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER

ORA-00119: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER

Hi,

Let me start by saying, I'm not really a beginner at all this, but by no means an expert. I have Oracle 12c enterprise set up on a Oracle Enterprise Linux ver 7 box.
    This has always worked fine, start Linux, from a terminal window
    [oracle@oradev ~]$ sqlplus /nologSQL> conn SYS as SYSDBA
    Enter password: xxxxx
    startup
    lsnrctl start

All was well. I have this running on VMware® Workstation 12 Pro, 12.5.0 build-4352439. I recently updated VMware...now when I get to
    startup I get:
    SQL> startup
    ORA-00119: invalid specification for system parameter LOCAL_LISTENER
    ORA-00130: invalid listener address '(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=oradev.attlocal.net)(PORT=1522))'
    SQL>

Please advise?
    James
    Janning197@aol.com

I believe my host name in oracle Linux (which is on VM ware, so maybe is in VM ware setting, this all started after updating VM ware)
    is not the same, somehow is in my listener.ora ? It looks ok below to me, but as I said, I'm not expert level

-- listener.ora contests below

SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = orcl)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /u01/app/oracle/product/12.1.0/dbhome_1)
    (SID_NAME = orcl)
    )
    )
    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = oradev.attlocal.net)(PORT = 1522))
    )
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC1522))
    )
    )

-- running hostnamectl in terminal

oracle@oradev ~]$ hostnamectl
    Static hostname: oradev
    Icon name: computer-vm
    Chassis: vm
    Machine ID: b78abe195ee04136a8e0d9b6fe0a0467
    Boot ID: 66dac5186f3c48c48985fd2de64dd6da
    Virtualization: vmware
    Operating System: Oracle Linux Server 7.2