DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Oracle RAC on SUSE SLES 10/NetApp NAS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    108

    Exclamation Oracle RAC on SUSE SLES 10/NetApp NAS

    Dear DBA Support,

    We are in the process of evaluating Oracle RAC. At the moment, we have following steup:

    Oracle 10202 Database
    SUSE SLES 10 SR1 X84-64bit
    Storage: NetApp NAS

    While going thru the Oracle RAC documentation, we have found that the RAC configuration works on RAW devices.

    Under NetApp NAS world, this is how we do.
    Disks will be grouped into Aggregates and Aggregates can be assigned to Volumes. These volumes will be presented to hosts.

    Can we use these volumes as raw devices for RAC configuration?

    Please let me know what is the best way to configure RAC in my scenario using the current architecture?

    Thank you,
    Nikee
    -Nikee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    RAC does not need raw devices

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle manual
    Although you can specify a logical volume as a device in an ASM disk group, Oracle does not recommend their use. Because logical volume managers can hide the physical disk architecture, ASM may not operate effectively when logical volumes are specified as disk group devices.


    Use logical volumes as normal file-system.

    PS: Raw devices are "managed" using ASM.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    108
    Hello all,

    Thank you for valuable inputs.

    If I use the logical volumes, then how can we share the same file system between 2 different systems...???

    Usually in Cluster world say (HP-UX), while mounting on one system, we mount using "EXCLUSIVE" option. So that, one system can own at a time and can aviod file damage.

    What about in RAC scenario?

    Thank you,
    Nikee
    -Nikee

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool

    You can mount same NAS storage on any number of servers.

    Last edited by LKBrwn_DBA; 05-12-2008 at 05:59 PM.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    108
    Dear Support,

    As you said, we can mount to n number of servers at the same time...But I heard from HP support guys that, mounting the same file system to different systems may cause the file damage due to different writing sequence. Due to this reason...especially in configuring the cluster, they set Exclusive for file system while mounting...

    Sorry.. I am not saying you are wrong..Just wanted to make sure my concepts..

    Thank you,
    Nikee
    -Nikee

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    For the volumes to be mounted on both the system and not be corrupted you either need RAW or special type of file system called cluster filesystem like Veritas Cluster Filessytem or ASM .

    HP Folks are right but with a veritas clusteraware filesystem you can mount the disks on both the nodes.

    http://media.netapp.com/documents/tr-3592.pdf

    have a look at that site

    regards
    Hrishy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Hi

    Since you are using NetApp you can use NFS, if you dont like NFS you need to use ASM

    Regards

    --
    LSC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width