DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: How to detect a corrupt table

How to detect a corrupt table

I ran into a problem this week that I'm trying to understand and learn how to detect in the future.

I'm a newbie to sql databases in general, So I will apologize up front.

Earlier this week, a 9i box that is used to control a portion of my manufacturing floor began to respond slowly to several servers. The hardware stats look normal (low CPU and mem usage), but our application vendor thought it was response time issue.

After 3 days of them troubleshooting, I was told that they found a corrupt table, and they had dropped and rebuilt it.

Some of my questions are:

• How would could I be pro-active and detect corrupt tables in the future?
    • Should my inside DBA been able to detect this?
    • Is it possible to leverage RMAN's VALIDATE procedure for this purpose?

Thanks in advance

errrr whats a corrupt table? tables dont get corrupted

>I'm a newbie to sql databases in general, So I will apologize up front.

Thats what my application vendor blamed it on, and my oracle DBA seems to nod his head to.

I've been researching the subject via google, and only find referances to corrupt databases such as block corruption. Which leads me to believe this is more related to hardware caused corruption.

What I'm trying to understand is how I (or someone else) could have properly diagnose this problem.

The problem was that the DB did not respond to some servers fast enough. CPU and memory were at their normal production run levels (so no increase to the load of the box). However it was deteremined that when certain process was running, oracle did not respond to the servers fast enough. When the process was shut down, the system sped up.