DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Install 8.1.5 client

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155

    I have Oracle 8.1.6 (client and server) on SunSolaris (2.8).
    For some reason, I have to install Oracle 8.1.5 (client ONLY) on the same machine.

    Can someone help me with the installation ??? Like, can use the same ORACLE_HOME
    and also same "oracle" OSuser to install the 8.1.5 client ???

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you could use the same user but I dont recommend install it in same Oracle Home. Just create another .profile for 8.1.5 client so you can switch between two profiles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155


    Thanks Pando for replying.

    >>>> Just create another .profile for 8.1.5 client so you can switch between two profiles

    Could you please provide me with little more detailed info. as to the process of switching profiles?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Your .profile file probably sets up your environment (if using ksh). You would copy your .profile to .profile.815. Then, edit the .profile.815 and change the appropriate environment variables (ORACLE_HOME, LD_LIBRARY_PATH, PATH, etc.)

    When you want to switch to your 815 environment type:
    . .profile.815

    When you want to switch to your 816 environment type:
    . .profile

    The same goes for csh, except the file is .cshrc and the command is:
    source .cshrc
    or
    source .cshrc.815

    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155

    Thanks "marist89".
    I did your way by the time I saw your reply.

    However, I am running into a problem.

    I have installed the 815 client under a different directory as "oracle" OSUSER and created the new .profile.815 and executed this file as well.

    Now I say,
    $ cd /export/home/oracle/815/bin
    $ sqlplus

    then, it gives me the following error:

    "ld.so.1: sqlplus: fatal: libucb.so.1: open failed: No such file or directory
    Killed"

    Can someone help me out here if I am missing something ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    You've probably got some of the environment variables wrong. Check LD_LIBRARY_PATH and PATH.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155


    If I say in .profile.815,
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/export/home/oracle/815/lib:/usr/ucblib
    then,

    $sqlplus works. Without including "/usr/uclib", it was giving the error that I have specified in my earlier posting.

    But, vi editor is not responding if I use "/usr/ucblib" in the LD_LIBRARY_PATH.
    I mean when I say,
    $ vi
    then it says,
    ld.so.1: vi: fatal: relocation error: file vi: symbol cur_term: referenced symbol not found
    Killed

    Any thoughts....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    This might be your problem. If you switch back and forth between .profile and .profile.815, your LD_LIBRARY_PATH will always contain what was specified first in your .profile.

    To verify this:
    1) login
    2) echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    3) . .profile.815
    4) echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    5) . .profile
    6) echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH

    You will probably see that your 816 environment is intertwined with your 815 environment. Instead, set a LD_LIBRARY_PATH_BASE in .profile and use that variable to switch in your .profile.815

    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH_BASE:$ORACLE_HOME/lib
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    34
    Are you sure what in profile present string
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH ?

    But I think is better way in use 2 user ( for example oracle and ora815 )

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155

    marist89, thanks for your help. I have implemented your way and it worked good.

    But, I have one more, probably the last one for the day :-)

    while using .profile.815, if I say:

    $ sqlplus system/manager@orcl
    then, it works.

    When say,

    $ sqlplus system/manager
    then, it gives me:

    "TNS-12545 Connect failed because target host or object does not exist"


    But, for 816 profile, everything works fine.


    What am i missing here ???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width