DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Which RAID will be better for TEMP tablespace and rollback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411

    Which RAID will be better for TEMP tablespace and rollback

    unfortunately, we don't have RAID 0 for me to put the TEMP in there. I have this server and it had RAID 1 and RAID 5.

    The question is which RAID should be put the TEMP and ROLLBACK tablespace to have the best performance if I can get.

    I think RAID 1 would be the best option for TEMP since I don't have RAID 0, what about ROLLBACK???

    I want to hear some advises from your guys.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Depends on your I/O Load. I would rather put my RBS on a six disk RAID 5 Filesystem that is 0% busy vs. a Mirrored disk that is 90% busy. In general though, RAID 1 would probably yield better performance.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    Jeff,

    thanks again for your advise as always,

    I already had redo, control files in RAID 1 and I also put archive logs in RAID1 which leave all of the data files go to RAID 5. In my case, would you think RBS in RAID 5 better??? since the control and redo already RAID 1???

    What about TEMP ??? RAID 1 or 5???

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Answer to both questions is "It depends". Is your RAID 1 busy? Can it handle the extra load? If your RAID 1 isn't that busy, put TEMP and RBS there.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    Jeff,

    sorry for my ignorance.

    I ubderstand you try to ask me if RAID 1 is busy or not on your very first posted; however, I don't know what to say b/c how can I determine if that RAID is busy or not.

    Can you give me some example of how we can tell if the RAID is busy.

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Look at iostat to find how busy your disk is:

    Code:
    iostat -xdM 5
    The %b is how busy your disk is...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    unfortunately, I am running Windows 2000 server

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    139
    Hi I think if you take RAID 0 vs RAID 5 I would rather go RAID 5 unless you can manage your disks using Veritas Volume Manager

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by mike2000
    unfortunately, I am running Windows 2000 server
    Sorry, I don't do Windoz. Maybe others in the forum have ideas about disk utilization...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width