DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Raid1- Raid5

  1. #1
    newbie5 is offline Call me super inquisitive
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    178

    Raid1- Raid5

    We are configuring a win2k server with oracle 9.2 on a RAID1 (18+18 mirrored effective 18 Gig) and RAID5 (18+18+18 striped effective 36 Gig) disks. Our plan is to place:

    on RAID1 -
    w2k OS
    oracle OS
    control files
    redo logs

    on RAID5 -
    all oracle datafiles including datafiles of index tablespaces
    temp files
    archived logs

    At present the total size of datafiles and tempfiles is 22.5 Gig with future growth expected in the next five years.

    Does this config sounds right? Any one has any suggestions/better ideas?

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    You might have interferrence between OS paging and REDO logs (I did).
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    with his senarios, I think that the best option for him to put redo and control file on RAID 1 with OS.

    Dopi,

    you mentioned that there might be a interference, can you give us the senerios ???

    Let's see others gurus say!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    anyone had any suggestions to this post ?????

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    I started with the same layout as newbie5 (except that they were 9Gb disks). OS was NT4.0 SP6a, Oracle 8.1.6, OLTP mainly, 50ish heavy users, 1.2Gb memory. Log activity peaked at 20% of wait time - went away when I moved the logs & controls to their own disk. Might be negligable for newbie5, might be a problem. (BTW this was not the driving force for buying new disks - it happened as part of a general upgrade).

    Pity you can't trade 18+18 for two times 9+9! It's like Swiss restaurants, you pay twice as much as you want to pay, for twice as much as you want to eat.

    P.S. The handle is DaPi - Dopi was one of the seven dwarves.
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Hi,
    i am not a guru but i would seperate in first redo Raid(1), archive_log(Raid1) and data(rAID5),

    if you would have adintinal raid5 then seperate index from data,
    if you would have aditional raid5 the seperate data from system, temp and undo

    if you would have additional raid1
    then mix the redo.log between them bcause the archiver
    when it'reads the redo to archive do not like to be
    disturbed by the redo-writer

    That's it
    Orca


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    411
    So inclusion, what you do think of this propestive:

    RAID1: O/S and Oracle software, archived log
    RAID5: datafile, redo, controlfile rollback and system as well???

    Is this sounds ok ???

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Originally posted by mike2000
    So inclusion, what you do think of this propestive:

    RAID1: O/S and Oracle software, archived log
    RAID5: datafile, redo, controlfile rollback and system as well???

    Is this sounds ok ???
    I would put the redo to raid1 too ( so datafiles are sperated from redo ).
    but it's not secure, when the raid1 dies you have no possiblity to revover the db complete.
    but the same with raid5

    so i want to ask other members what would you do?
    Orca
    Last edited by Orca777; 02-14-2003 at 10:58 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Given a limited number of disks, I think I would start EXACTLY as newbie5 has proposed. I'd check the log waits and move the paging files to the RAID5 if I saw a problem. Running .exe from the RAID1 only affects startup - unlikely to produce contention with the logs in general.
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Sorry newbie5, I forgot to call you super genius.
    P.S. why does your light bulb keep going out?
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width