DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: To Autoextend or Not to Autoextend ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York , New York
    Posts
    577
    Hi,

    Is it a good idea to leave the datafiles in autoextend mode or are there any performance implications of that.

    Thanks
    Ronnie
    ronnie_yours@yahoo.com

    You can if you think you can.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    yes, no as long as your maxsize is not greater than the your maximum OS file size.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    To me, it makes sense to set a maxsize for each datafile. Currently my maxsize is 4 GB. It's all about administration ease. If moving datafiles around, it's easier to come up with 4GB spare space to move the datafile to than 20GB. For 64 bit platforms 4GB for 32 2GB. Just my personal preferance.
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    nice way to blow up a file system (like temp or rbs ts)
    for runaway queries
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    405
    Originally posted by ronnie
    Hi,

    Is it a good idea to leave the datafiles in autoextend mode or are there any performance implications of that.

    Thanks
    I would say no. It's not about performance.. It's about management..If you set autoextend on, few files may occupy the whole filesystem where as other files are still small in size, and you will not have equal sized files after a period of time. Setting autoextend on may cause administration related problems in longterms. So, set autoextend off and give that so called human touch to your database structure by setting the datafile sizes manually.
    -nagarjuna

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    It's about management. Your not going to set autoextent on unlimited on a rollback/temp tablespace.. com'mon, that's crazy. If your are going to use autoextent, you need to set a REALISTIC datafile maxsize.
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width