DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dba studio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    24
    Hi there!

    I installed oracle enterprise edition 8.1.7,i am able to connect to the database thru sql,but when i try to open DBA studio, even after one hour it is not opening.why so?

    bye
    eric

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    Do you get an error message? Can you find the executable on your machine?
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    24
    Hi ,
    thanks for the reply.i am not getting any error messages , i am able find the excutables.

    bye
    eric

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    49
    Hi,

    Have you test the display settings?

    And confirm whether the following is working to ensure your display settings.

    $ xlock

    should result by showing a graphical clock in the screen

    HTH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    24
    Hi there!

    I tried what u said,i am getting the following error


    SQL> select * from v$xlock;
    select * from v$xlock
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00942: table or view does not exist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    24
    Hi there
    i would like to add that, i am able to open all other "windows",except DBA studio.

    bye
    eric

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by eric
    Hi there!

    I tried what u said,i am getting the following error


    SQL> select * from v$xlock;
    select * from v$xlock
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00942: table or view does not exist

    I think what murugappan was trying to do is decipher whether you have your DISPLAY variable setup correctly. The xclock program should be run from a UNIX command line, not from sqlplus. Of course, if you are on NT or something else, this is totally irrelevent.

    I think it would help if you specify your OS & version as well as your Oracle version.
    Jeff Hunter

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    285

    kill the jrew.exe process and open again...

    Hi Eric,

    I got the problem you posted constantly. Since I am using Win2K server, I just go to Task Manager >> Processes tab >> End a process called jrew.exe. Then you tried to open the DBA studio again from your start menu. More than likely, it will work this time.

    I don't know why we get this problem, but so far this way works for me. Hope somebody can give us an explanation on why it's like that :-)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    24
    Hi elaine3839

    Thanks very mcuh for your reply. your suggestion worked fine.i was not able to solve this for nearly a week. thanks man.

    bye
    eric

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width