DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: very very urgent

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    I have compaq ML 350 SERVER( PIII 933/896MB/36 GB
    --with 5 Partitions).windows nt 4.0 with sp4.

    We have loaded oracle 8i with site replicator options.
    We are facing problem that the CPU is shooting upto
    100% constant & We are required to reboot the server.
    This problem is persisting twice or thrice in a week
    ,Otherwise all front application like office ,backup
    software were performing well.
    At this not even alteast 2 users would be using the
    server.
    No hardware error found ,ran dignosis from compaq
    utilities.

    Pls.do reply all,

    Awaiting for your favourable response.

    Thanks in Advance

    Shailendra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Posts
    99
    That is a pretty wide open question without much details on the Oracle Setup or what process is using the 100% of the cpu. If you believe it is Oracle or you let us know some details on the Oracle setup we may be able to help. First of course is the which process is using the 100% of the cpu, have you check the alert log for any oracle error messages?
    Doug

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    But do you have any idea why it happens?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Could be any number of things:
    A user session running a bad query
    A poorly tuned database
    dbwr spiking because of poor I/O

    We need many more details in order to offer an educated opinion. With all that other stuff on the box, do you know if it is even Oracle that is using all that CPU?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    What all information is required for this can you tell me so that I can give you all the required information and if possible also tell me how to get the information.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Central U.S.
    Posts
    35
    My first act would be to install SP6.
    David D. Fitzjarrell
    Oracle Certified DBA

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    Oratune thanks for reply

    But can you tell me the relation between both of them beause I do nto have any idea about it. so an you plz. tell me.


    Plz. explain me in detail I would be very thankful to you



    [Edited by shailendra on 11-09-2001 at 10:24 AM]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    384
    It like applying patch or like upgrade .Most of the known bugs would be soved by appling them ...Ask your NT admin to do that ...
    Radhakrishnan.M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width