DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on degree qualifications

Smile

I've seen the raging debates about the OCP qualification and I wondered what everyones thoughts were on the requirement for a Computer/Science based degree. I'm of the opinion that if you can do the job then it doesnt matter, but I'm also aware that some employers wont grant an interview without a relevant degree.
    I personally kind of stumbled into a career in computing. I did a Business Studies degree but got a job first in Operations and then fell into DBA'ing which I've been doing for 9 or so months (and thoroughly enjoying). I've been toying with the idea of doing a part time Computing degree (once I've got my last two OCP exams out of the way) because I feel it would give me a deeper understanding of computing generally (as well as improving my employment prospects).
    Any opinions from anyone?

IMHO, an advanced degree (AS or above) is an absolute requirement for a DBA job. Sure a CS/CE degree would be preferred, but not a requirement.
    Jeff Hunter

howly if you come from business area you can dig yourself to the hole of Oracle Applications (if you can suffer of course )

Thing is I've been in IT for 5 years now - 4 in Ops/Ops Analyst role writing batch job etc on UNIX, and more recently a DBA role. Because I dont have a computing degree background the only formal training I've had is week courses for Shell scripting/SQL etc. I feel that I'm particularly weak on the programming side so thought that a part-time degree would make up for the shortfall. Problem being its a big commitment that'll take years. Would I be risking not getting jobs in the future if I didnt do it even with solid DBA experience?