DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: shared memory realm does not exist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    OS = 2000 server
    DB - 8.1.7

    Service starts just fine, but I can not login from SQL*PLUS it tells me that
    ORA-01034: Oracle Not avaiable
    ORA-27101: shared memory realm does not exist

    I did shutdown and restarted service few imes it starts just fine.

    Please be specific with the steps as this is all new to me.

    Thanks in Advance

    [Edited by irehman on 07-12-2001 at 10:29 PM]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    188
    hi,
    i think you try the connect to the db when they start.
    This error occurs if the db is shutdown.
    I think you must start the db.
    You dont write if you try catch from a client to the server or if you are on the server.
    So if you are on a client and you cant connect und you say the db is started then start the listner.

    Regards
    Thomas Schmidt
    Best Regards
    Thomas Schmidt

    Thomas_Schmidt@eplus-online.de
    If you have no aims, you will never reach a goal !!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up

    HI, tomate is right. Even though the service is started it doesnt always mean that the database is up and running. Check your alert files, and to start up the database you'll have to open a command line session with SVRMGRL, connect as internal and start the database.

    Try connecting after this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    362
    Hi,
    I also have exactly the same problem. The service and the database both are started but it gives me an error when trying to connect using sql plus.

    I stop and start the service and it works fine.

    I would also be interested to know the solution of this problem.

    btw I am also using Oracle 8.1.7 on Windows 2000

    Thanks
    Anurag
    Appreciation is a wonderful thing;
    It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    I don't know what happend but this is strange, I changed the size of DB_BLOCK_SIZE = 8196

    Now it works just fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    188
    hey irehman,
    it is not allowed to change this parameter in the init.ora.
    if you want to change this parameter you must create anew database.

    So long
    Thomas Schmidt
    Best Regards
    Thomas Schmidt

    Thomas_Schmidt@eplus-online.de
    If you have no aims, you will never reach a goal !!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    I did and it works just fine.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    362
    Do any of the Gurus in this forum have any idea on this issue.

    Eagerly waiting for input.

    and btw irehman you are not supposed to change the db_block_size. The database has to be recreated to change it.

    Anurag
    Appreciation is a wonderful thing;
    It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width