DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: rman again

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    RMAN-03022: compiling command: allocate
    RMAN-03023: executing command: allocate
    RMAN-08030: allocated channel: c1
    RMAN-08500: channel c1: sid=13 devtype=DISK

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: backup
    RMAN-03026: error recovery releasing channel resources
    RMAN-08031: released channel: c1
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: backup
    RMAN-03014: implicit resync of recovery catalog failed
    RMAN-06004: ORACLE error from recovery catalog database: RMAN-20001: target data
    base not found in recovery catalog

    Duunno ..target dabase xists and is connected.......

    What more possible reasons mite give this error?
    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    have you registered the database?

    http://technet.oracle.com/docs/produ...cat.htm#431385
    Jeff Hunter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    thanx again....
    did that now another problemmmmm

    database i noarchive log mode....
    What do i do in this case?
    thanx alot




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Maybe you should read http://technet.oracle.com/docs/produ...rt1.htm#435958 cover to cover to get a good overview of how to setup RMAN for backups.
    Jeff Hunter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    15
    Hi,

    Mount the database exclusively and via svrmgrl

    enter

    ALTER DATABASE ARCHIVE LOG;

    This allows the archiving of the redo logs.

    To enable automatic archiving of the logs you will also type

    ARCHIVE LOG START;

    also set the LOG_ARCHIVE_START param in the init.ora for the database to TRUE.

    Bringing the database back open should now have set the DB to ARCHIVELOG mode and if you selected it, automatic archiving aswell.

    Regards,

    Mark

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    15
    Sorry,
    that should have read ALTER DATABASE ARCHIVELOG;
    with ARCHIVELOG as one word.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    As Jeff suggested, I would second his opinion on "Reading the DOC cover to cover" The question on the second is not something that could be answered easily.

    1. Do you want to do a hot backup? Then enable archive log

    2. Can you afford to take the db down for the backup? Then
    forget about enabling archive logs

    So it all depends on the shops requirement and affordability on the down time.


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by sambavan
    2. Can you afford to take the db down for the backup? Then
    forget about enabling archive logs
    Yikes, I'd clarify by:

    2. If this is not a production database and can be brought down for backup, then forget about enabling archive logs.

    IMHO, logs should be archived for ANY production database whether it is backed up HOT or COLD.
    Jeff Hunter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Thanx a lot guys................

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Good Catch Jeff...

    Example for a burned out day Thanx for the fix.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width