DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: sql trace - very urgent and desperate.

Question

I'm using Oracle 8i. I need to get a sql log file in order to debug a problem, but I don't know how to set up the sql trace in Oracle. I know how to do it in MS SQL. I'm sure someone out there knows how. Please help.
    Thanks in advance,
    Tamie

Smile

you can use the command "alter session set sql_trace = true;" on SQL prompt after that you run your SQL statement on the current session.

Question Tx. Need more help.

Thanks for your help! But I'm not very clear on your answer. Would you please elaborate more? I'm new to Oracle db.

I dont know what kind of problem you are talking about. Is it a development issue like Pl/sql you need to debug or it is a database tracing issue.
    For the Latter you can issue a
    Alter session set Sql_trace=true. THis sets tracing on for your session only. It generates atrace file in the location specified by the parameter "user_dump_dest". If there are a lot of trace files in this directory you need to find yours by issuing the following:
    select s.username, p.spid
    from v$session s, v$process p
    where s.paddr = p.addr
    and s.username = 'USERNAME';
    This returns the spid .
    The format of the trace file is :SID_ora_SPID.trc

Now you can go through this file and find the parse ,fetch,exec etc info.

Tansdot

Question

Ok. Here is what I try to do.
    This is on NT. I'm debugging a problem that I need to look at all the sql statements / db roundtrip that an application makes to Oracle db. Unfortunately, this application doesn't have sql trace option. Thus, I need to generage a sql log file via Oracle application. I read an online doc. which says that I need to update all parameters such as "user_dump_dest" and set "alter session set sql trace = ture" in init.ora. Yet, I can't find init.ora anywhere. What are other things that I need to do besides what I described above.