DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: rman question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222

    rman question

    We have a new database that was never backed up before. The database is in archivelog in ASM.
    We shutdown the application and want to take a full backup. There are serveral archivelogs that was never backed up. Should I just take a full rman backup and forget about the archivelogs ? If so, how do I get rid of the archivelogs after the full backup ? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,492

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by pascal01 View Post
    ... Should I just take a full rman backup and forget about the archivelogs ? If so, how do I get rid of the archivelogs after the full backup ?
    Yes, take full backup of database and archivelogs, something like this:
    Code:
    RUN
    {
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch1 DEVICE TYPE DISK;
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch2 DEVICE TYPE DISK;
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch3 DEVICE TYPE DISK;
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL ch4 DEVICE TYPE DISK;
      BACKUP AS COMPRESSED BACKUPSET
        DATABASE
        FORMAT = 'F:\orabackup\ORCL\%d_%t_%s_%U.bkp'
        INCLUDE CURRENT CONTROLFILE
        PLUS ARCHIVELOG DELETE INPUT;
    }
    If after this, there still remain old archive logs, you can remove them with these commands:
    Code:
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL FOR MAINTENANCE DEVICE TYPE DISK;
    CHANGE ARCHIVELOG ALL CROSSCHECK;
    DELETE NOPROMPT EXPIRED BACKUP DEVICE TYPE DISK;
    DELETE NOPROMPT OBSOLETE;
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222
    The application has been shutdown and there will be no activity on the database until a backup is taken. I want to avoid a large backup but be able to recove from the full backup. Can I just do a full backup without backing up the archive logs, then do 'delete archivelog all;' ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,555
    Requirement is getting closer and closer to an old fashioned cold backup - if that's the case, shutdown the database, take a cold backup.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222
    Yes. The database at this time is used for querries only and cannot shut it down. The database is in ASM.
    I suppose a full database (level 0) without archivelogs should be OK ? Then 'delete archivelog all;' ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,166
    Quote Originally Posted by PAVB View Post
    Requirement is getting closer and closer to an old fashioned cold backup - if that's the case, shutdown the database, take a cold backup.
    If the datafiles are stored in ASM, then you need to do either a warm backup or a hot backup. You can do a warm backup without the archive logs, but you need archive logs to roll a backup forward to a future point in time. If you do a hot backup, then you are doing an inconsistent backup and you need the archive logs to make the database consistent when you restore. Either way you want to do a compressed backup with the archive logs. You can truncate the archive logs after you back them up. The commands that lkbrown posted should work for what you need. Although I don't manually allocate channels, I make RMAN do that for me.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width