DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001


    In oracle 8.1 documentation they mentioned that the two distinct categories of privileges are
    1.System privileges
    2.Schema object privileges.

    It was also mentioned that the Oracle user privileges are divided into two categories as follows:
    1.system privileges.
    2.object privileges.

    I would like to know whether the object privileges and schema object privileges are same .Could any one help me in clarifying this doubt.

    I would also like to know how many system privileges are available.
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    It may be that shema object privileges refers to user objects rather than system objects such as the catalog.

    To research the system privilege count, I ran:

    select count(distinct privilege) from dba_sys_privs;

    115 rows selected.

    I ran this query against a fairly new installation of Personal Oracle 8.1.6 on Win98 (I'm at home). I'm sure the answer is different depending upon the version # and Edition.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    there are totally 80 system priviliges in oracle 8
    schema object priviliges and object privilged mean the same

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.