sql loader problem
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: sql loader problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    211
    Hi friends,
    My control file for the sql *Loader is ass follows:

    LOAD DATA
    INFILE 'c:alist.dat'
    append into table a_list_tbl
    fields terminated by ","
    ( a_termination,
    d_datetime date "dd-mon-yyyy hh24:mi:ss",
    ncode,
    a_date date "dd-mon-yyyy hh24:mi:ss",
    c_date date "dd-mon-yyyy hh24:mi:ss"
    )

    The .dat file is as under:

    123456789012345,30-apr-2001 08:10:20,N1234567,30-apr-2001 08:10:20,30-apr-2001 08:10:20

    When I use the Data Manager from the enterprise manager, the loading takes place successfully, however, when I try to run the same thing from the server directly, i get the following message:
    --------------------
    >sqlldr username/password
    control = /usr/users/mk/alist.ctl

    SQL*Loader: Release 8.1.6.0.0 - Production on Mon Apr 30 11:51:22 2001
    (c) Copyright 1999 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.
    Commit point reached - logical record count 2
    -----------------------
    What does the above mean , and how do I set it right so that loading is successful?
    Thanks
    manjunath

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    47
    Everything is fine. Your SQL*Loader has successfully loaded data from your .DAT file into the database. The message "Commit point reached - logical record count 2" simply acknowledges the success of SQL*Loader.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    211
    Thanks Pinakin,
    But, when I select from the table, the new data is not returned. I therefore think, the data is not loaded. Any suggestions?
    Thanks
    manjunath

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    47
    Just checkout in .BAD file. All rejected data are dumped into the .BAD file. It is possible that oracle might have rejected all of your data and dumped into .BAD file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    211
    Yes, I checked up the .bad file. It just has the data which is not loaded. But, how do I set it right? The data is good because, when I try to lad the same thing through Data Manager, it works correctly.
    Thanks
    manjunath

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width