Strange Error, Never Expected.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Strange Error, Never Expected.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    14

    Lightbulb

    Hi Fellows,

    I am having Troule Altering any Table, This is kinda weird, Never had such.

    I am on 8.1.6 on Win 2000 .

    can not alter any table to Add , Drop or Modify any thing in it, This is he error that I get.
    SQL> alter table medloc modify(seq_no null);
    alter table medloc modify(seq_no null)
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1
    ORA-20001: Cannot Drop column or Table
    ORA-06512: at line 5

    SQL> alter table medloc add(newc number);
    alter table medloc add(newc number)
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1
    ORA-20001: Cannot Drop column or Table
    ORA-06512: at line 5

    Can any one please help me, WHY??

    Thanks..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    203
    00604, 00000, "error occurred at recursive SQL level %s"
    // *Cause: An error occurred while processing a recursive SQL statement
    // (a statement applying to internal dictionary tables).
    // *Action: If the situation described in the next error on the stack
    // can be corrected, do so; otherwise contact Oracle Support.

    Previously once i got these error when i imported data from one database to another database. First i imported the data from database a to database b but i am not satisfied with that import and again i imported data in database b. Then when i connected as user i got this problem. Then i dropped the all users except SYS,SYSTEM,OUTLN. Then again i imported data into database b. This time the problem fixed. So if this is your situation then try the above method. If it's not then give a call to customer support. Any way wait some more time. Out folks will get back you with some more good ideas. Good luck.
    sree

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    14
    Any Thought Please.

    The Database does not let me Alter any table for any Action.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    alter table medloc add(newc number);


    This could be because you are trying to alter the table as a sys. Try qualifying the tablename with the schema name

    alter table schema.tablename add (column datatye);

    example:

    alter table scott.emp add(dob date);


    I hope this should work fine.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    14
    Thanks for You Input.

    It's not the case. the Table is in my own Schema and Even by specifying User.Table_name does not solve this problem.

    Any othe Possibility...

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    as per the documentaion it seems like the internal dictionary tables are messed up.
    Was there any software or database upgrade applied recently or any other major change ?

    - Rajeev

    Rajeev Suri

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    47
    Are there any DB level triggers written ??? Just check out.
    The error message "ORA-20001: Cannot Drop column or Table" seems to be a user defined one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    14
    No Not at all.

    I only Installed EZSQL for Testing, I suppose It does not harm any thing.

    Rest is as it is? Even did not change any thing in SYS or even in Dictionary.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    02001, 00000, "user SYS is not permitted to create indexes with freelist groups"
    // *Cause: user tried to create an index while running with sys authorization.
    // *Action:


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    14
    There is no Instance level Trigger. I don't see even Logging as Sys.

    Yes I do have DBA Privs and even SYSDBA, but at this time I was logged on as Normal DBA.

    Any other Thougt.

    Please

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width