DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multiple Select

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3

    Question

    Greetings,

    I'm trying to create a multiple selection using a drop down list. I realise that this can not be done using a LOV and that
    it also can not be done using a listbox or dropdown box.
    Now, my question is...Can it be done using an ActiveX object?
    and secondly, if it can be done...How?

    Thank you for your time.
    Callie


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    103
    Hi Callie,
    After performining multiple selects do you want to perform multiple inserts.?
    When the going gets tough, the tough gets going

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3
    G'Morning

    It would be nice to do mulitiple inserts but that isn't a
    priority. I would like to be able to search by those
    multiple choices....for example search the database
    for everything that is in Canada and the States.

    Callie

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    462
    LOV's cannot perform multiple selects.


    I checked Metalink (always a great first step in research), and I found a workaround. Check Note:122010.1

    Essentially they instruct you on how to build multi-select "LOV-like" functionality in a form, using other form items rather than LOVs.

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    13
    Hmm I have the same need. I need to allow multiple selections and then use that as a search criteria. Will you share once you have decided on a solution?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    153
    Hi

    There was already questions floated on this..this can also be solved using STACKED VIEW with the desired Rownumbers..allow the user to select the records he wanted using checkbox in the corresponding rownum's and u write a algorithm for that logic and pick the records..
    Vijay.s

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    13

    Smile

    Can you elaborate what is "stacked view" or post some sample codes. would really appreciate.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    462
    You may be aware that a "canvas" is necessary to display items in Forms. There are several types of canvassas, including:
    content,
    tab,
    stacked,
    . . .

    A stacked canvas is used as follows:

    Create a content canvas with the items you intend to display routinely. Create a stacked canvas, put content on it that you intend to display periodically, and position it over the content canvas in the appropriate location. Control the display of the content canvas, so as to make it appear that there is only one canvas, whose appearance has changed. In this way, you could put the data you wish to display in an LOV onto the stacked canvas, then display it at the appropriate time . . .

    Good luck!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    1

    Need Help

    Hi Kmesser,

    you mention there is a workaround note from Metalink to build a drop down with multiple select. What is the URL for Metalink ??

    Thanks in advance

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    462
    http://metalink.oracle.com


    Doc ID: Note:122010.1
    Subject: How to select multiple values in a list of values
    Type: PROBLEM
    Status: REVIEWED
    Content Type: TEXT/PLAIN
    Creation Date: 13-OCT-2000
    Last Revision Date: 12-FEB-2001


    *************************************************************
    This article is being delivered in Draft form and may contain
    errors. Please use the MetaLink "Feedback" button to advise
    Oracle of any issues related to this article.
    *************************************************************

    Problem Description
    -------------------

    You want to select multiple values in your LOV.


    Solution Description
    --------------------

    It is not possible with the standard list of values to select multiple values.
    You can do this by creating your own lov in forms.
    In the next example we will create an LOV with the same look and feel
    as the standard LOV of forms

    Your screen, during runtime, should look like this :

    search item
    -------------------
    | |
    -------------------

    list5 item
    -------------------
    | |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    ------------------

    ------ ---- --------
    |find| |ok| |cancel|
    ------ ---- --------

    Items on your form :
    * two list items : list5 and list6
    list6 List Style = TList
    visible = NO
    Elements in List => put one item with space
    list5 List Style = TList
    visible = YES
    Elements in List => put one item with space

    * textItem : search
    Initial value = %

    * 3 buttons : find, ok and cancel
    * 2 parameters : x_postion and y_position
    * record group : empgroup
    select distinct to_char(empno), ename from emp
    * 2 visual attributes : color and default
    for default leave all the properties to unspecified
    for color change the background color

    Triggers :

    When-new_form-instance

    DECLARE
    Error_Flag number;
    BEGIN
    set_window_property('WINDOW1',X_POS,to_number(:PARAMETER.x_position));
    set_window_property('WINDOW1',Y_POS,to_number(:PARAMETER.y_position)+30);
    Clear_List('list5');
    Clear_List('list6');
    Error_Flag := POPULATE_GROUP('EMPGROUP');
    IF Error_Flag = 0 THEN
    POPULATE_LIST('list5', 'EMPGroup');
    ELSE
    MESSAGE('Error while populating list group');
    END IF;
    END;


    /* for list5*/
    When-list-changed

    declare
    total_list_count number;
    i number;
    double number;
    begin
    double := 0;
    i := 1;
    total_list_count := Get_List_Element_Count('list6') + 1;
    while i < total_list_count loop
    if :list5 = Get_List_Element_value('list6',i) then
    double := 1;
    delete_list_element('list6',i);
    end if;
    exit when double = 1;
    i := i + 1;
    end loop;
    if double = 0 then
    total_list_count := Get_List_Element_Count('list6');
    total_list_count := total_list_count + 1;
    Add_List_Element('list6',total_list_count,:list5,:list5);
    Set_Item_Property('list5',VISUAL_ATTRIBUTE,'color');
    else
    Set_Item_Property('list5',VISUAL_ATTRIBUTE,'default');
    end if;
    end;


    /* for find button */
    When-button-pressed

    DECLARE
    errcode NUMBER;
    thequery varchar2(100);
    BEGIN
    thequery := 'select to_char(empno), ename from emp where empno like '''
    || :search || '%'||''' order by empno';
    errcode := populate_Group_with_Query( 'EMPGROUP',thequery );
    clear_list('list5');
    populate_list('list5','empgroup');
    END;


    /* for ok button */
    When-button-pressed

    declare
    total_list_count number;
    i number;
    my_elements varchar2(250);
    begin
    i := 1;
    total_list_count := Get_List_Element_Count('list6') + 1;
    while i < total_list_count loop
    my_elements := my_elements || ','||Get_List_Element_value('list6',i);
    i := i + 1;
    end loop;
    :global.my_elements := substr(my_elements,2);
    exit_form;
    end;


    /* for cancel button */
    When-button-pressed

    exit_form;


    Once you have done this you can call this form in the key-listval
    of another form.

    Create new form with one item : text_item

    Triggers :

    When-window-activated :

    :text_item := :global.my_elements;


    When-new-form-instance

    :global.my_elements := ' ';


    /* for text_item */
    Key-Listval

    declare
    pl_id ParamList;
    pl_name varchar2(10) := 'tempdata';
    x_position number;
    y_position number;
    begin
    /* Get position of item*/
    x_position := get_item_property(:system.cursor_item,X_POS);
    y_position := get_item_property(:system.cursor_item,Y_POS);

    /* Create parameter list to give position to lov form*/
    pl_id := Get_Parameter_List(pl_name);
    IF not Id_Null(pl_id) THEN
    destroy_parameter_list(pl_id);
    end if;
    pl_id := Create_Parameter_List(pl_name);
    IF Id_Null(pl_id) THEN
    Message('Error creating parameter list '||pl_name);
    RAISE Form_Trigger_Failure;
    END IF;
    Add_Parameter(pl_id,'x_position',TEXT_PARAMETER,to_char(x_position));
    Add_Parameter(pl_id,'y_position',TEXT_PARAMETER,to_char(y_position));

    open_form('lovform', ACTIVATE, NO_SESSION,NO_SHARE_LIBRARY_DATA, pl_id);
    end;


    Example
    --------

    ORACLE_HOME/tools/devdem60/demo/forms/picklist.fmb
    ORACLE_HOME/tools/devdem60/demo/forms/picklist.pll
    --> another example of a multiple select of values

    In this example they make use of two lists.
    One showing the products available and the other list shows the selected objects.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width