Script questions
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Script questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    286
    1. How do you pass a variable's value from PL/SQL to SQL script?
    2. How do you pass a variable's value from "anonymous " PL/SQL to SQL script?

    3. In SQL, you can execute an OS command by use "HOST." Can you do the same thing in PL/SQL? I mean, how do you run OS commands from PL/SQL?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    90
    I'm fairly sure that you can't do any of the things you say here, sorry !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    india
    Posts
    213
    hi
    i think u can pass the value of the variable to sql script from the sqlplus using &&variable_value in ur sql script

    hope this is what u want
    pras

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    47
    1. & 2. I am unable to locate any stright forward solution. You can make use of temp tables. Create a temp table in oracle having 2 cols - col_name and col_value and insert the variable name and it's value in these two cols. And then you can fetch these values from your SQL Script.

    3. This can be worked out by calling an EXTERNAL ROUTINE The required OS command can be stored in a DLL (any routine written in C or C++). . You register the routine in your PL/SQL routine, and then call it to executu your OS command. OR you can even your DBMS_PIPE

    Do let me know for other alternative solutions ....

    Good Luck,

    Pinakin.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4
    hi
    Pras is right guys...for first two questions..
    about third question it is not possible to use host command in pl/sql block cause it will give u error
    Identifier HOST must be declared...
    Try out with UTL_FILE...
    regards
    Amit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Sao Paulo,SP,Brazil, Earth, Milky Way
    Posts
    350
    For 1 &2 : if the script and the PL/SQL will be executed from the SAME session, maybe the vars could be put in a PACKAGE spec.

    Regards,

    Chiappa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width