alert log is not being created
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: alert log is not being created

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    163

    Talking

    Dear friends,
    For some reason(??) my alert log is not being created today. That problems brings me to a question: what controls creation and updates of the alert log?
    I do see an entry in my initsid.ora with a correct path for alert log destination. It is the same as yesterday. The difference is yesterday I had alert log today I don't.
    Your help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    26

    Smile

    hi
    as u know if the location in the init.ora is not specified then oracle will still write to a default location and also if an alert.log exists then oracle will be appending new entries into the same log unless u have a mechanism which moves out alert.logs of each day to another place then oracle will have to create a new alert.log in the same place
    cheers
    soren

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    163
    Thank you.
    But my problem has not been solved yet. I am still figuring out how it is possible that alert log is not being created.
    Does anyone know what interval of time Oracle appends new information to alert log?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    126
    Hi,

    ORACLE will write to alert log whenever there is a startup, shutdown, log switch or when there are errors. Some statements which affect ORACLE dictionary are also record in alert log.

    Baliga

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    147
    Did you try shut it down and restart the DB? That might help!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    317
    Probably there are no errors or switch logs to be written to alert log file. Did you check you archive log directory. Try switching the online logs and check the alert log. Then let us know if still the alert log file is not updated.
    Thanks
    Kishore Kumar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    163

    switch logs

    How do you switch logs, is it 'alter database switch logfile;'?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828

    Cool

    you can manually force a log file switch by this script


    sql>alter system switch log file;

    hth


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width