SID length
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SID length

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    71

    Question

    anybody have idea how long SID can be. Is there any limit on length?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    Yes there is a limit , It cannot be more than 8 characters.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    71
    is 8 a problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    in NT Yes. There are some issues...Oracle recommends 4 letter Instance but, not db name.
    Reddy,Sam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    TRUE Reddy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    in NT it's 4 because of file name issues

    normally init.ora is initSID.ora if SID was 5 letters we would get init12345.ora which is not 5.3 format (MS-DOS standard file format) and causes problems

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    BTW, in 8i the maximum length of SID can be 64 characters (not 8 or 4).

    I myself still folow my personal rule: SID=4 characters long, DB_NAME is the same as SID. Old habits, I guess....
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Jmodic,

    TRUE. It makes me comfortable to have all the database/instances in one format/naming convention, espectially if you have 10`s and 100's of databases like we do.
    Reddy,Sam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width