32 bit or 64 bit??
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 32 bit or 64 bit??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    phoenix, AZ,USA
    Posts
    20

    Hi,

    How can I find if the Oracle Installation was a 32 bit or 64 bit installation?


    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    41

    Wink

    Login to sqlplus as system/password
    SQL> select * from v$version;

    Cheers!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    If you are using Unix OS, Go to bin directory and execute the following command:
    file oracle

    This will give you whether Oracle is 32 bit or 64 bit.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    phoenix, AZ,USA
    Posts
    20
    When I did file oracle, this is what I got :

    oracle: executable (RISC System/6000) or object module not stripped

    Am I missing something?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    126
    Hi,

    Run the command in $oracle_home/bin directory.

    Baliga

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    phoenix, AZ,USA
    Posts
    20
    I did.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    51
    I got this:

    ELF 32-bit MSB executable SPARC Version 1

    what determind whether you'll get 32bit or 64?

    oracle or os?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    I agree to hedyash. It seems to give the same output for the AIX system. And the solaris system tend to give the expected out put.

    Any idea?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    157
    After foolowing all the suggested steps,
    I got this

    machine_name oracle Dbname /mountpoint/***/oracle/product/8.1.5/bin
    $ file oracle
    oracle: executable (RISC System/6000) or object module not stripped

    machine_name oracle DBNAME /mountpoint/***/oracle/product/8.1.5/bin
    $ $oracle_home/bin
    ksh: /bin: 0403-006 Execute permission denied.

    Can any body tell me why, I still could not find the bit?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    An AIX expert(or docs) or Oracle will tell you the work around to find your db is 32-bit/64-bit.

    Above procedure works in Solaris.
    Reddy,Sam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width