OEM 2.1
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: OEM 2.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    I have installed OEM 2.1 on NT, but when I try to discover Node it fails. MY question (Intellegent Agent gets installed automatically when you are installing OEM or is it installed seprately)

    Thanks in Advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    What is your oracle version. Normally, intelligent agent is installed with the oracle. Then you have to start that

    lsnrctl dbsnmp_start
    lnstctl dbsnmp_status

    and make sure that it had been started, on the oracle server side. tyen try discovering the node

    Good luck,
    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    I tried to
    dbsnmp_start

    but when I get lsnrctl dbsnmp_status it says subagent is not started.

    It is not giving me any error.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    If the node that you are trying to connect is on a solaris or any unix platforum, then try these trouble shooting measures. 1. First check to see whether the agent is running by typing the following
    command
    lsnrctl dbsnmp_status

    if you get the following message
    "The db subagent is not started"

    then follow the following steps:
    i) try to do the following
    lsnrctl dbsnmp_start
    lsnrctl dbsnmp_status

    Even after this step you couldn't start the agent do
    the below specified steps
    a) Check to see the log messages under
    $ORACLE_HOME/network/log/dbsn*.log

    if the logs show NMS-00001

    b) Go to the directory $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin and rename the

    mv snmp_ro.ora snmp_ro.ora.old
    mv snmp_rw.ora snmp_rw.ora.old

    c) Go to $ORACLE_HOME/agent and rename

    mkdir q
    mv *.q ./q
    mv services.ora ./q

    d) Start the Intelligent agent
    lsnrctl dbsnmp_start

    e) Confirm that it has started
    lsnrctl dbsnmp_status

    and also do
    ps -ef|grep dbsnmp

    f) Once after you confirm that you have succesfully
    started the Intelligent agent

    rm $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/snmp_ro.ora.old
    rm $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/snmp_rw.ora.old
    rm $ORACLE_HOME/agent/q/*.*


    Good luck
    Sam

    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    Server is on NT box.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    66
    The Intelliget Agent is installed by default, but you must start them on control panel.
    This is a well known bug in metalink site.
    On NT platform, you don't have to use dbsnmp_* functions.
    These function are there only because the developers have forget to remove them. This work only on UNIX.
    To start listener on NT, use control panel, start Intelligent Agent.
    This work together with Data Gatherer. You have to start this service also. If Datagatherer don't start, check your registry, the oracle homes must be in order. e.g. if you have home1, home2, but don't have home0, you have to create a home0(dumy).

    If your node have not discovered databases,
    delete %orahome%/network/admin/snmp_ro.ora, snmp_wr.ora files, ./agent/*.q files and restart intelligent agent.

    you can check for error on %orahome%/network/log/nmiconf.log file for errors, or check %orahome%/network/agent/services.ora for discovered services.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    41
    Hi,

    I have got the same problem as "IREHMAN". Although I discovered the node but can't run any job like export or backup.......

    I have done the same which explained by "SAM" but could not run a job through OEM.

    Any suggestions!

    Thanks in advance......

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    66
    For the jobs, this is another story.
    You have to create a account on the server machine where
    the database is, with LOG ON AS A BATCH JOB user rigths.
    In OEM console, on preference, you must log the job with this user, so the Intelligent Agent do the job batch thru this user with job batch rigts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    455
    Okay, It worked

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Set the prefered credentials for the node and instance. For the instance it should be either sys or system. For the node, it should be a valid user name, with correct permissions. Then try creating a simple jobs like
    for instance do select * from v$instance; and for the node job, do a directory listing and confirm that you can
    successfully do things. Besure that OMS and OEM are of the same version. If they are different then you would have trouble in creating the events or scheduling the jobs.

    Sorry,folks for giving an Unix troble shooting for NT.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width