DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Backups in Oracle

Question

Hi!!

I am just new to the Backup scene in Oracle. I have been put in charge of coming up with a proper backup strategy for my company. I would like info on the following point:

1> what should i consider when creating a backup strategy?
    2> is it better to conduct backups using ARCHIVELOG mode or through RMAN. Can we use both?
    3> is it possible in Oracle to have the backup sent directly to a tape drive or will they have to be copied manually from disk?
    4> how does Oracle do incremental backups?

Thanks a lot for all ur help

Regards
    Lynn

1) First of all judge the availability of yr Database i.e. whether it is 24x7 database. Also find out how much downtime can yr management take.
    2) RMAN can take backups of databases both in Archivelogmode and non archivelog mode. Using RMAN you can forget about what was backed up and when. It stores everything in the control file or in a separate repository in a different datbase.
    3) RMAN is capable of directly copying files onto the tape.
    4) RMAN is able to do incremental backups. If using exports you can take incremental backups.

Here are some other things to consider:

You should list the different types of failure and the steps used to remedy each.

For example, node failure will be different than disk failure, and different than user failure.

To use RMAN effectively, you should set it up on a different node than your primary database. In addition, there is substantial advantage to creating a recovery catalog when using RMAN.

On 8.1.5, there is an interface to Legato Storage Manager that allows easy operation of an automated tape device.

Hope that helps.

Your backup strategy pretty much goes with how much down time your database can afford to have from day to day problems, apart from disaster recovery which has to be looked at different angle.
    Reddy,Sam

Question: