Database urgent!!!!!!!!!!!!
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Database urgent!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    56
    How to create the same database like which is running in Machine A to Machine B.I want all the datafiles,schemas.Ucan say how to do with SVRMGrL AS WELL AS OTHER METHODS TOO
    Thnaks
    G.Suresh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    56
    oops bot are windows n/t.But in machine a it is oracle 8.0.4 in Machine B Oracle 8.1.6
    Thanks

  3. #3
    my guess... install 8.0.4 on machine B... shutdown oracle on both.

    cold copy all files from A to B
    startup database on B (to check it).
    then do an upgrate to the database and the installation on B.


    anyone else have another solution?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    56
    I cannot install 8.0.4.I need to install on 8.1.5 only.Which all files are to be copied????????
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Depending on database size, that't probably the best way.

    Otherwise, you could export/import from the old to the new.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by sureshgane [/i]
    [B]Which all files are to be copied????????
    [/B][/QUOTE]
    There are several threads on this forum explaining exactly what to do and which files to copy.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    295
    The files you need to copy are:
    1. init files (initSID.ora/configSID.ora, listener.ora,
    tnsnames.lora, etc)
    2. LOG files
    3. CONTROL files
    4. DATA files


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Try using RMAN and it would allow you to take the backup of your database and create another copy of the same one. There you don't even have to know what to copy and where it copy. RMAN would create you the test database for you.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    56
    What I followed was I copied physically the control files,init files,data files,log files from Machine A to Machine B.Then using Database Assistant Created the DataBase in MachineB.
    Hope it will work.If my methodology is wrong let me know
    Thanks
    Suresh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width