DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SNAPSHOT can not refresh automatically

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    I set up a master and snapshot site on 2 different machines.
    snapshot site contains one refresh group with few simple snapshot tables.

    so far, I only can manually "force" refresh the snapshot site.
    using dbms_refresh.refresh('groupname');

    could anyone tell me how to make the refresh automatically?

    on master site:
    repadmin (interval 6 sec)
    dbms_defer_sys.schedule_purge (interval=>/*6:Secs*/ sysdate + 6/(24*60*60)

    on snap**** site:
    snapadmin (all 3 interval are 6 sec)
    dbms_defer_sys.schedule_push(interval=>/*6:Secs*/ sysdate + 6/(24*60*60);
    dbms_defer_sys.schedule_purge(inerval=>/*6:Secs*/ sysdate + 6/(24*60*60);
    dbms_refresh.make(/*6:Secs*/ sysdate + 6/(24*60*60);
    init.ora
    job_queue_interval=10
    job_queue_processes=2


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    3
    have you tried to use
    dbms_snapshot.refresh('SNAP');?????????

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    what is 'SNAP'? suppose put in group name, snapshot name/w method,..

    Here is the result:

    execute dbms_snapshot.refresh('SNAP');

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-23401: snapshot "SNAPADMIN"."SNAP" does not exist
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_SNAPSHOT", line 386
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_SNAPSHOT", line 140
    ORA-06512: at line 1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    5
    After you make snapshot you should adjust how often you want the snapshot will be executing.
    Example:
    alter snapshot [snapshot] refresh next [time period];

    Time period is in days, so if you need minutes (sysdate+5/1440) = 5 min.

    After this snapshot will be execute every 5 minutes.
    Nothing more you should set.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    212
    make job_queue_processes=5..8

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    See the following syntax for refreshing snapshots having a list of snapshots to refresh everyday at 4 am.

    <font face=courier>
    /* contains all the snapshots for refresh */
    begin
    dbms_refresh.make('xyzrod.xyzrod_ref',

    'xyzrod.usps_suffix,
    xyzrod.usps_abrev,
    xyzrod.fips_country_code,
    xyzrod.usps_state,
    xyzrod.ems_msag_community,
    xyzrod.pbc_saf',

    trunc(sysdate) + 19/24, 'trunc(sysdate + 1) + 4/24');
    end;
    /
    execute dbms_refresh.refresh('xyzrod.xyzrod_ref')
    </font>

    [Edited by sreddy on 02-08-2001 at 08:47 AM]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    34

    catrep

    Are you sure Did you run catrep.sql? it is necessary.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width