Can't drop database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can't drop database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    28

    Cool

    Hi ,

    I've tried to drop database: delete datafiles, redo, log, controlfiles ( with help v$datafile, v$logfile ). I've deleted init***.ora file and modified listener.

    However when I am running Oracle Configuration Assistant 'droped' database is still in 'available instances' ( when I tried to delete Assistant crashed ).Reboot didn't help / Oracle 8.1.6 on Linux /

    thanks for help

    Jan


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    7

    Post

    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by jan [/i]
    [B]Hi ,

    I've tried to drop database: delete datafiles, redo, log, controlfiles ( with help v$datafile, v$logfile ). I've deleted init***.ora file and modified listener.

    However when I am running Oracle Configuration Assistant 'droped' database is still in 'available instances' ( when I tried to delete Assistant crashed ).Reboot didn't help / Oracle 8.1.6 on Linux /

    thanks for help

    Jan

    [/B][/QUOTE]

    Hi Jan,

    It seems , u have not unregistered the Environmental Parameters like ORACLE_SID . Try to remove this . It may help u to avoid displaying the database name in Oracle Configuration assistant.

    Best of luck

    Pramathesh Kumar Mohapatra
    Sql Star International Ltd.
    Stp Hyderabad. Andhra Pradesh
    India

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    28
    Hi Pramathesh ,

    I checked ..$echo $ORACLE_SID ... there is no value, where else it can be set ?

    thanks, Jan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    roma
    Posts
    131
    Instance and database are 2 different things. So you may have an instance of a droped database. if you have remove all the database file...datafile,redolog,controlfile,conf+initfile..you have removed the databse. Now you have to clean your variable parameters

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    175
    Hi,

    In Solaris (I presume the same for Linux) the oratab file contains a list of all available databases. Ensure the dropped database is not listed in this file.

    Regards

    moff.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    28
    Any idea where to start ?

    thanks, Jan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    28

    Cool

    <g> we missed. I've edited "/etc/oratab" file and instances are gone.

    Many thanks for help, Jan

    Ps: is there some docs what is under Linux assistants, I've got docs shipped just for tools for NT ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    If dbassistant doesn't work, Shutdown the database and remove all the files associated with the database(control,log,data and parameter). Thats about it. Your database is gone.

    I haven't worked on linux to tell where the oratab entry is gonna be. But you can use unix 'find' command to find where that entry is going to be.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155

    In linux, I think:

    /etc/oratab

    In Sun;

    /var/opt/oracle/oratab


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width