DBMS_JOB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DBMS_JOB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14

    Question

    Hi,

    I have tried the following:

    exec DBMS_JOB.SUBMIT(:jobno,'proc;',sysdate,'sysdate+1/5600');

    and it get executed successfully and proc also has been executed once. In user_jobs table there is entry for this job and next_date value also been set.

    But, this procedure has not been executed next time.

    I have tried to start the job by

    exec DBMS_JOB.run(jobno); and
    exec DBMS_JOB.interval(jobno,'sysdate+1/5600');

    but there is no success.

    please suggest the solution to run thejob in the interval.

    thanks,
    satheesh.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    296
    The job did run one time?
    LAST_DATE in DBA_JOBS is not NULL for jobno?
    If it is NULL, is JOB_QUEUE_PROCESSES in your init.ora not 0?
    FAILURES in DBA_JOBS is 0?
    BROKEN in DBA_JOBS is 'N'?

    Maybe there are other jobs scheduled before this job or, one or more SNP processes hang.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14

    Exclamation Still not in job queue

    Thank you for your reply.

    The job did run one time?

    Yes

    LAST_DATE in DBA_JOBS is not NULL for jobno?

    yes. It has last execution time

    If it is NULL, is JOB_QUEUE_PROCESSES in your init.ora not 0?

    There is no such entry in init.ora file.

    FAILURES in DBA_JOBS is 0?

    Yes.

    BROKEN in DBA_JOBS is 'N'?

    It is 'N'.

    Also, this is the only entry in dba_jobs and user_jobs. Also, the next_date field is set ahead 13 second( approx.) of last_date.

    What else to be run?

    thanks ,
    satheesh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    296
    Check the value of job_queue_parameters in v$parameter.
    If it is 0, add it to your init.ora and set it to 3. It is the number of SNP (job) processes. Even if you don't have many jobs, 1 or 2 are mostly not enough. Jobs can hang and different jobs have often to be run at the same time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14
    The parameters in v$PARAMETER are set like:

    job_queue_parameter 0
    job_keep_connection FALSE


    I have added these two parameters in init.ora file with 3,TRUE, but there is no success.( I have removed the old job and recreated it )


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    296
    You shut down and restarted the database after the change of the init.ora?

    Does the job not run at all or with a larger interval?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width