oracle startup on nt
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: oracle startup on nt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    15

    Cool

    last night one of the dbas here changed system's password on an oracle 8.0.5.1 database running on NT. The problem is that when the machine is bounced, the database comes up unavailable. The wierd thing is that when you go into services, the oracle service is started. any ideas???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    344
    It is possible for the services to be running, but the database not started. You can restart it manually be going into server manager (svrmgr30, I believe the command is for 8.0 on NT), logging in as SYS or INTERNAL, and doing a 'startup open'.

    I am not sure what you need to do to get it starting up automatically again, tho.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    15

    i've gotten that far.

    I can do it manually but would like it done automatically as before.

    ...thanks for the help though

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Go to

    CONTROLPANEL/SERVICES/and see what mode(auto/manual) the database startup is. Check the auto mode if it not.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    15
    it on auto...and the service is started but the database is unavailable......i'd send you the exact message but pcanywhere on that box is down for the moment. any other suggestions??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Talking suggestion



    Write your own script to startup the database if the NT server reboots.

    - Magnus

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    179

    Talking

    What do you mean by system password ,, is it Oracle internal password or NT user password

    Check password file , maybe corrupted , create a new one if so..


    [Edited by hnagia on 02-01-2001 at 12:11 PM]
    Hisham Nagia
    IT Manager For Development
    Oracle Consultant - OCP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Check the sid thats server is defaulted to currently. By checking registry ORACLE_SID entry or typing in set @ the prompt you can see whether the sid is defaulted to the database you wanted to start automatically.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    15
    it's oracle's internal password

    ...password file is not corrupted because I can manually connect internal

    I found some stuff on metalink though that should correct the problem (once they get pcanywhere going again.)

    in case you want to know, I believe the solution will be:

    Go to the OracleHome\Database directory
    Locate the strtSID.cmd file
    Highlight this file, click on the right button
    Choose "Edit"
    Change the "-usrpwd oracle" parameter to "-usrpwd /"
    (without the quotes!)
    Save the file

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width