How to create sripts to copy database?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to create sripts to copy database?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    29

    Exclamation

    I want to know how to make scripts, which help to copy one database to another including users,roles,tables,...,data?

    I need to do it using only scripts (not .dmp)

    I found some third party tool which make such scripts but order of creating objects is incorrect.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Red face ??


    Why can't you export/import within a script?
    That would be the easiest way, but why don't you wanna do it that way?

    - Magnus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    344
    Hi Maxxx,

    If the 3rd party tool was EZSQL, then download a new version. An option was added last week so that when you are extracting the DDL for a lot of tables, the FK constraints are all at the end of the script so you won't have errors.


    You may have to enable the feature under 'Preferences' -> 'DDL Extract'

    -John

    If your concern with the DMP files is because you are going from one OS to another, don't worry about it. It should work. If your concern is that you don't want data, use the ROWS=N option.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    230
    Hi:

    How about if you are going from 8.1.5 to 8.0.5?
    As far as I know you can not use 8.1.5 .dmp file for 8.0.5.
    How you resolve this problem?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    230
    Hi
    Does any body know?

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    344
    You have to install the 8.0.5 export views into your 8.1.5 database, then use a 8.0.5 client to run the export. You can then use the resulting file to import in an 8.0.5 database. Then of course you should set your 8.1.5 db back to normal. I believe the name of the script is catexp.sql.

    I have never done this, just read about it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    34

    Export

    You can use export/import utility from Oracle 7.3.4. Just run catexp7... I don't know exp/imp utility from 8.0.5 working with 8.1.5 or not. But you cat lose 8.1.5 futures...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    230

    Export form 8.0.5 and import to 8.1.5 will work because all the conversion
    are happning during import.
    But, if you export from 8.1.5 and import it to 8.0.5, will it work?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width