DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Oracle Database Installation

Hybrid View

Oracle Database Installation

Hello,

I am new to the Oracle Database. I would like to install Oracle 11g database on windows7 desktop. I need to install oracle db on linux using vm box.

Please help me with links to download free vm and linux softwares.

Here is the link for the software:
    http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/da...eSiteId=ocomen

Here is an install guide ffor Windows 7:
    http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/tech...windbinst2.htm

Here is the install guide for Windows 64 bit, assuming that you are using Windows 7 64 bit. It should be the same:
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/...c.htm#BGBFAAIC

Here is the same for Linux 64 bit:
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/...c.htm#CEGHFFGG

Here is some getting started information:
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/...e10897/toc.htm

Learning Oracle involves a steep learning curve. But good luck, and keep trying. You may want to start with Windows, since it will be more straight forward to install. Good Luck.

Thanks for your reply. I have tried to install Oracle on windows and tried many times and got struck over here.

Finally it failed at Dataconfiguration assistant with "Template General_Purpose.dbc does not exist. Please specify an existing template for database creation.

INS 20802 Oracle Database configuration assistant failed
    Last edited by srikanth535; 02-04-2014 at 04:29 PM.

You should not need to create a template. Can you post the log file for the database creation? You might also try going through the screen and just get Oracle to create the scripts for creating the database. You can then run those scripts from DOS.

Here is the log of dbca assistant
    Feb 6, 2014 1:38:13 AM oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig perform
    SEVERE: Listener is not up or database service is not registered with it. Start the Listener and register database service and run EM Configuration Assistant again .