DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Table scans from application

Hybrid View

Table scans from application

Hi,

We have an application where delete statement is taking a long time. When I see the v$session_longops the sql statement is doing a full table scan. But when I do an explain plan on the delete statement it uses the index. The statement is "delete tablename where column_name =:B1". I am new to Oracle any ideas how I should proceed.

Thanks,
    SK

I would do a 10046 trace so to be sure what the statement is actually doing.

Couple of questions...
    1- How many rows out of the total number of rows on the table is supposed to delete the statement?
    2- I assume there is an index on the column_name used on the predicate of the delete statement - if this is the case, are table and index statistics up to date?

Hope this helps.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

1. 144 rows.
    2. Yes.
    We have few systems configured exactly the same. One few of them the delete from the application runs quickly. Today I did a query on v$sql for the system where it runs fine and on the other one. I see this difference, the columns for IS_BIND_SENSITIVE and IS_BIND_AWARE on the slower system is NO and on the one where the sql runs faster is YES. Any clues , I am going on this.

Thanks,
    SK

Are 144 rows deleted?

How big is the table (number of rows) in the system that runs fast?

How big is the table (number of rows) in the system that runs slow?