DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Bizarre error message

Hybrid View

Bizarre error message

Hello! I am new to SQL so bear with me.

I am trying to get the following code to work within a system that uses Oracle for back end data services:
    Code:
    SELECT Retail Tran DateTime, Product Department Name, Product Quantity, Product Retail Price 
    FROM Product Sales Detail 
    WHERE Product Department Name = 'Meter' 
    	AND Retail Tran DateTime = DATEADD(DAY, -1, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP)
    ORDER BY Retail Tran DateTime;
    But I keep getting the following error message but I don't understand how there could be any problem with my FROM statement:
    Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleException ORA-00923: FROM keyword not found where expected at Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleException.HandleErrorHelper(Int32 errCode, OracleConnection conn, IntPtr opsErrCtx, OpoSqlValCtx* pOpoSqlValCtx, Object src, String procedure, Boolean bCheck) at Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleException.HandleError(Int32 errCode, OracleConnection conn, String procedure, IntPtr opsErrCtx, OpoSqlValCtx* pOpoSqlValCtx, Object src, Boolean bCheck) at Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleCommand.ExecuteReader(Boolean requery, Boolean fillRequest, CommandBehavior behavior) at Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleDataAdapter.Fill(DataTable[] dataTables, Int32 startRecord, Int32 maxRecords, IDbCommand command, CommandBehavior behavior) at System.Data.Common.DbDataAdapter.Fill(DataTable dataTable) at Blackboard.ReportingSystem.XmlToSql.ParseXmlToSql.ExecuteSql()
    Is there any way anyone could explain what this message is even telling me?

Code:
    SELECT Retail Tran DateTime, Product Department Name, Product Quantity, Product Retail Price 
    FROM Product Sales Detail 
    WHERE Product Department Name = 'Meter' 
    	AND Retail Tran DateTime = DATEADD(DAY, -1, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP)
    ORDER BY Retail Tran DateTime;