migration from windows server 2008 to REHL 5
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: migration from windows server 2008 to REHL 5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    migration from windows server 2008 to REHL 5

    Hi all,

    we are planning to migrate 10g oracle database from windows 2008 server to 11gR2 rhel 5 ..

    target database version on windows
    ======================
    SQL> select * from v$version;

    BANNER
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.1.0 - Prod
    PL/SQL Release 10.2.0.1.0 - Production CORE 10.2.0.1.0 Production
    TNS for 32-bit Windows: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production

    can someone provide the document how to migrate the data from one platform to other..


    thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,972
    There are too many variables to answer that question. How big is your database?
    How much downtime can you take during the cut over? You can use exp/imp,
    expdp/impdp, transportable table spaces with either of the previous two options.
    Knowing that you are running the base release of 10gR2 doesn't provide much information.
    this space intentionally left blank

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15
    hi,

    size of the database is
    SQL> select sum(bytes)/1024/1024/1024 Gb from v$datafile;

    GB
    ----------
    20.29003906

    and we have the down time for 24 hrs..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,972
    That is an eternity for that little data. You should install and patch Oracle to the correct release on the new server, create a new database with all of the table spaces that you need, the correct SGA size, setup RMAN backups on the new database, create all of the users that you need with the correct privileges. And then use data pump to get a full export of the schemas that you need and import that into the new database. If you want it to be really fast and you have enterprise Oracle you can add compress=all and parallel=5 to shrink the export size and make it uber fast. Like instead of taking 20 minutes to migrate your data you might be able to migrate you data in 5 minutes. Do a few test migrations, test the Linux version of the database and schedule you migration. You should need less than 2 hours of downtime.
    this space intentionally left blank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15
    thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15
    hi,

    As a part of migration finally we are going with the 64bit windows server 2008 from windows server 2003..and oracle version from 10gR2 to 11gR2..

    so far i have just installed the oracle software on new server.
    Can you help me how migrate the data from old server to new one .

    Thanks ..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    migration from windows server 2003 to 2008

    hi,

    As a part of migration finally we are going with the 64bit windows server 2008 from windows server 2003..and oracle version from 10gR2 to 11gR2..

    so far i have just installed the oracle software on new server.
    Can you help me how migrate the data from old server to new one .

    Thanks ..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,972
    Backup and database with RMAN and restore to the new server with RMAN. This is the best case scenario as far as migrating the database is concerned. You might want to look at using RMAN to migrate from 32 bit to 64 bit software. Also migrating with a warm backup will mean that you don't need to apply any redo, so you can just do a startup upgrade and run the upgrade scripts to upgrade the database to the new version.
    this space intentionally left blank

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15
    thank you for quick reply..

    created the "pfile.ora"
    created the same directory structure
    i took rman backup from the source db(old).. i am unable to connect to rman on the target (new) ..can you help me how to set the env variables on windows ..
    Last edited by krish96; 10-31-2012 at 11:37 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15
    C:\>set ORACLE_SID=testdb;
    C:\>set ORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1;
    C:\>set TNS_ADMIN=C:\oracle\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1\NETWORK\ADMIN;
    C:\>set ORA_NLS33=$ORACLE_HOME\ocommon\nls\admin\data;
    C:\>set LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME\lib:\lib:\usr\lib
    C:\>set LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:\usr\local\lib;
    C:\>set LIBPATH=$ORACLE_HOME\lib:\usr\lib:\lib;
    C:\>set PATH=$ORACLE_HOME\bin:$PATH;

    C:\>sqlplus "/ as sysdba"
    'sqlplus' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\>sqlplus / as sysdba
    'sqlplus' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.


    C:\>rman target /
    'rman' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width