agent port
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: agent port

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31

    agent port

    Hi,

    I have doubt about the port and communication b/n oms and agent.(10g grid control)



    $ emctl status agent

    Agent URL : https://dbhost01:3872/emd/main/
    Repository URL : https://emhost:4888/em/upload



    I see the above ports when i check the status from dbhost01. What is the port dbhost is using to Upload the data to the OEM server ??


    Is this communication one way ? OR does OMS server also talk to Agent ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    60
    Communication is both ways, host talk to OMS on port 4889 and 1159 and OMS talks to host on 3872 and 1830.

    It seems you are using 4888 instead of 4889 (default)

    Can you telnet to OMS from host on the ports listed above. Your firewall may be blocking the connection.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31
    Thaks for your reply.

    You listed two ports for com b/n oms and agent and vice versa.,

    Does the communication happen on both the ports or u just listed teh default ports ?

    Also What is the protocl used for this communication ?

    Non default was used, as we are already running 10g OEM. 11g is the new installation on the same server.

    I am just wondering can we use same ports as old one, parallely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,001
    try doing "emctl status agent" and then

    telnet grid_server_name gridport
    telnet host_name host_port

    Both ports and server names will be listed when you do "emctl status agent".
    You need to connect to one server from the other and vice versa specifying
    the port. you will then know if a port is open to a particular server.
    this space intentionally left blank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    60
    OEM 11g uses port 7799

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,001
    Quote Originally Posted by skhanal View Post
    OEM 11g uses port 7799
    Are you sure that that is how it is configured?
    Perhaps you are thinking about your Grid install,
    and not the Grid install of the person who originally posted the question?
    this space intentionally left blank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    60
    I am talking about the default port, I have no idea how the poster configured.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by skhanal View Post
    I am talking about the default port, I have no idea how the poster configured.
    That's the point Skhanal. You can't say "OEM 11g uses port 7799" if you mean "default port for OEM 11g is 7799" - you have to be specific.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width