How to add a 'failed' node back into Failsafe?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to add a 'failed' node back into Failsafe?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Congleton
    Posts
    258

    How to add a 'failed' node back into Failsafe?

    We have a 2 node cluster using Oracle failsafe and 1 node completly failed. It was the passive node. This node had to be rebuilt. what are the steps to re-introduce it to the cluster?

    At the moment Oracle failsafe has a 'RED CROSS' for this node. Do I need to remove this node first? If so, how? As it is a 2 node cluster, what will happen once I remove the node?

    The original node is LIVE so I don't want to disrupt the service. I have tried the Oracle Failsafe documentation and tuturial but this focuses on Installing and configuring failsafe.

    Thanks. Regards, Sheryl

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    what is the problem with passive node? did you find any error information? Is this OS / cluster problem or Oracle problem?

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Congleton
    Posts
    258
    The whole server went, completely dead. We had to buy a new server.
    Rgds. Sheryl

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    okay, then let your system admin build the new node and add to windows cluster. Once that is done you can add that node to OFS. Adding node is pretty well documented in OFA admin guide.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Congleton
    Posts
    258
    Thank you.
    The node will have the same ip and host name as previous. Will this cause any problems when starting up the server? Also, I assume you just verify the groups, once the node is back into the cluster, do I need to shutdown the database. The database is in production at the moment and 24*7. Thanks. Rgds. Sheryl

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    There should not be any problem provided the failed node is completed removed from OFS culster as well as from windows cluster.

    No need to shutdown the DB. Once the node is added to OFS then you need to configure the passive node in DB fail-over configuration.

    Thou your DB is 24 x 7, it is advisable to take some time and test the fail over just to make sure you are okay in real situation.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width