problem with svrmgrl prompting password
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: problem with svrmgrl prompting password

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    20
    We have a new machine installed with Solaris 8. I installed oracle 8.0.5 (from a tar file) and everything worked fine. Then I had to downgrade the OS to r7 because an apps will not run in r8. We did that and now we are having some problem with Oracle. Whenever I use svrmgrl to connect to oracle, it prompts for password. I found that I also need to start the listener first - otherwise i would get TNS - no listener. I thought you dont need the listener to be up to connect to a database using svrmgrl!!?? Am i right? I have check....the oracle user is in the dba group. Anything else I am missing? Aside to that problem, I also have another problem with the solaris machine. When I telnet to it, it takes about 1 minute for the login prompt to appear. However, it works fine if I add my pc ip address in the hosts file. Any clue?

    thanks
    Daud11

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    hi

    do you have the enviroment variable TWO_TASKS set? If it is unset it, it might work


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    20

    Wink

    I remember I set that env var after recreating the oracle user in the .profile. When it worked before I did not set. Actually what is it used for? Default database sid?

    Thanks. I will try that when I go back to work on Monday.

    rgds
    Daud11

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    79

    TWO_TASKS

    Pando, Would you please elaborate that what this two_tasks paramter is used for ?.

    Thanks and Regards,

    gtm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    20
    pando

    You are right. When I unset TWO_TASK it no longer prompts for password when I try to connect internal. Thanks.

    But what is it used for?

    thanks
    daud11

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    It sets default SQL*Net connect string defined in tnsnames.ora thats set as part of Environment Setup.

    Either you have to undefine it or use diffrent connection string explicitely @xyz to connect, as by default it connects to that whenever you don't specify explicit connect string.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width