8i database to 11gr1 database?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 8i database to 11gr1 database?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    25

    8i database to 11gr1 database?

    Can i use exp to export all my database to file from oracle 8i and transfer them to another server running oracle 11gr1 and then use imp to import the files to this new server, will all the data,users and what;s not be these, so i can just point my oracle client to this new server and all the info(data,database) will be there?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    What have you found when you tried this for yourself?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    25
    I tried the long way, by just finding the files, copy them to the new server and try to recreate the database using the control files sql script.

    but 8i control file is not compatible to 11gr1 control files.

    so i am going to cretate a virtual machine and do a dummy test with the exp & imp ?

    just a few questions:

    1) when you install oracle 11gr1 database, what is the default password for sysdba,system, ..etc

    2) my exp command looks like this on my oracle 8i:
    exp system/ FULL=y file=.dmp log=exp.log CONSISTENT=y

    what do i use for the imp command:
    imp ?/? FULL=y file=.dmp log=imp.log CONSISTENT=Y

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    When you install 11g, what did you enter for the passwords when prompted to do so?

    Are you familiar with Oracle documentation? There are lots of examples of how to do export and import. See the Utilities Guide.
    http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B...b28319/toc.htm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    25
    I selected custom when installing 11gr1 and then select all to install every thing.
    never ever ask for password, untill i created a testdb database?

    but that testdb is not what i am importing into.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    There is a window, asks you to use the same password for all privileged accounts, or enter separate passwords. What did you enter? Why would you select custom?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    25
    I created a test machine in VirtualBox 4.06 and install CentOS 5.6 x64.
    then install oracle 11gr1 database, with everything> I am now in the process of creating my testdb database.

    after this, i will try to import my full backup that i did with 8i exp.
    Last edited by fbifido; 05-04-2011 at 03:09 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width