checkpoint not complete
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: checkpoint not complete

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    56
    Tue Jan 23 18:58:20 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 1693
    i'm getting error msgs in my alrt log about check point not completeinng... how can i remedy this..
    add more redo logs??

    Thanks in advance


    Current log# 1 seq# 1693 mem# 0: DORANT\DATABASE\WHR_TEST\WHRTLOG1.DBF
    Tue Jan 23 18:58:36 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 1694
    Current log# 2 seq# 1694 mem# 0: D:\ORANT\DATABASE\WHR_TEST\WHRTLOG2.DBF
    Tue Jan 23 18:58:51 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 1695
    Current log# 3 seq# 1695 mem# 0: D:\ORANT\DATABASE\WHR_TEST\WHRTLOG3.DBF
    Tue Jan 23 18:59:10 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 1696
    Current log# 1 seq# 1696 mem# 0: D:\ORANT\DATABASE\WHR_TEST\WHRTLOG1.DBF
    Tue Jan 23 18:59:24 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 1697
    Current log# 2 seq# 1697 mem# 0: D:\ORANT\DATABASE\WHR_TEST\WHRTLOG2.DBF
    Tue Jan 23 18:59:39 2001
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 1698
    Checkpoint not complete

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    I think your log file sizes are very small. Increase them. Also increase LOG_BUFFER size in INIT.ORA file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    56
    log_buffer = 163840
    is the current size of the log_buffer, what should i incrase it to?

    How do i make my log files larger??

    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Basic steps are if you have currently 3 log groups, create 3 more log groups with the desired size using
    ALTER DATABASE ADD LOGFILE GROUP x
    '/usr/oracle/dbs/log4ORCL.dbf' size xxM;
    Shutdown database and open it in restrict mode and use the command ALTER SYSTEM SWITCH LOGFILE
    and make sure the log file you are trying to drop is not having the status 'CURRENT' and drop it.

    See the following metalink doc for detailed steps on how to resize your logs.

    [url]http://metalink.oracle.com/metalink/plsql/ml2_documents.showDocument?p_database_id=NOT&p_id=1035935.6[/url]

    Larger values of LOG_BUFFER reduce redo log file I/O, if there is lots of trasactions in the database. You have 160K makeit double.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    126
    Hi,

    You can drop and recreate the on-line redo logfiles with a larger size. This should be done preferably when teh database is in restricted mode.

    Before you do that you can add two more sets of redo logs and see if the message disppears.

    Increase the log buffer only if you find too many allocation space requests.

    Baliga

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    you DON'T need to Shutdown the database for this.

    After creating the new Bigger log groups, just switch the logfiles...check the status of the old logfiles to make sure it is in INACTIVE state and then drop it.

    - Rajeev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    I have mentioned assuming there is lot activity on the database as logfiles are small and will be filled so quickly, to avoid the redo creation during the time new log groups are created. Be careful, if you are doing while the database open for users.

    Make sure, you switch the logfile to the log group you create with diffrent size before attempting to drop the existing log groups and see all of the log groups you created havng status are inactive/current but not 'unused'.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width