installing 10.2 on AIX 5.3 machine
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: installing 10.2 on AIX 5.3 machine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    195

    installing 10.2 on AIX 5.3 machine

    pardon the newbie question.

    I just donwloaded oracle 10.2 from the following link

    http://www.oracle.com/technology/sof...01aixsoft.html

    I unzipped and extracted the file via cpio.

    I ran ./Disk1/rootpre/rootpre.sh

    I have the following questions:

    1) which runInstaller do I need to run would it be ./Disk1/runInstaller

    2) I don't have xwindows installed on my system, is there away to install
    the software without an xterm session?

    3) Will ./Disk1/runInstaller prompt me for a location for my ORACLE_HOME
    and that's where the software will be installed too.

    Thanks in advance to all who answer this post

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Check readme file - everything you need to know is there.
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    195
    The only README file is under ./Disk1/stage/Components/oracle.rdbms/10.2.0.1.0/1/Datafiles/Expanded/filegroup35. What it the location of the file you are referring too

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    195
    let me re-phrase. I have xterm and all the X11 utilties installed on my AIX 5.3
    machine but I don't have an X-term emulator running on my PC. I am using
    putty.

    When I run the Oracle universal installer

    ie ./runInstaller -ignoreSysPrereqs

    I get a message can't open display.

    Is there anyway to install the software that does not require me to have
    some type of X-server software running on my PC or is this all GUI based.

    can I entire a command line option to setup the software that does not
    require X11 software.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Putty is all you need to perform a Silent Mode installation.
    Start reading at 1.2
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cyberjaya,kuala lumpur
    Posts
    340
    But if he have xterm and all the X11 utilties installed in his PC, he can get the GUI rt,
    Also there is one more software like humming bird, this are used to get the GUI while using putty.Also need to export DISPLAY=portnumber:0.0
    Last edited by gopu_g; 06-30-2010 at 07:18 AM.
    Thanks/Gopu

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    195
    Guys,

    thanks for your help. I downloaded the X11 part of cygwin, which is from GNU
    and free and installed that on my PC. This allowed me to create an xterm
    session and run the Oracle installer.

    Though I do like the idea of running from the command line in silent mode,
    filling out those templates look like a pain in the a$$. All I really wanted was
    to install the software and there were a million values you needed to file
    in (ie stuff for ASM,...) it would be nice if Oralce supplied a template that
    will allow you to bypass all "extra" stuff.

    FYI, I like to create my own DB's with by hand so I can customize each as
    needed.

    Once again, thanks for your help and the tip about silent mode was great. I
    think I read you can use the installer to create a template for you based on
    your answers to the gui, I will try that next time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width