multi instance server
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: multi instance server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    31

    Question

    Hi guys,
    In our house, two identical instances, PROD and TEST, on one sun server. I have been using the test instance to practice to learn to be an oracle DBA ( i am not one still now). I know only one way to shut down the test instance is shuting down the sun server that also shuts down the PROD instance. Please tell me if there is other way to shutdown the test instance without bothering the PROD instance which is supposed to be up all the time. Oracle version 7.1.4 on Unix os. Any suggestion is appreciated very much.

    Jn1971 :(

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    To shutdown:
    -
    export ORACLE_SID=test
    svrmgrl
    connect internal
    shutdown immediate
    exit

    To startup:
    -
    export ORACLE_SID=test
    svrmgrl
    connect internal
    startup (or startup pfile=full_path_name_of_inittest.ora)
    exit

    [Edited by Halo on 01-25-2001 at 03:19 PM]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    C Shell

    $setenv ORACLE_SID TEST
    $setenv ORACLE_HOME /.../.../..../714
    $svrmgrl
    svrmgr> connect internal
    select * from v$database <--------Make sure
    svrmgr> shutdown normal/immediate

    K shell appropriate environment setup.




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    check your $SHELL first

    if /bin/csh,
    setenv ORACLE_SID test
    svrmgrl
    connect internal
    shutdown immediate
    exit
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    though it may be obvious but because you said, you are still learning DBA, I thoguht it's worth mentionaing that SVRMGRL is for Oracle8i; For Oracle 7.1.4 the name will be something slightly different (SVRMGR32 ?)

    - Rajeev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    [QUOTE][i]Originally posted by rsuri [/i]
    [B]though it may be obvious but because you said, you are still learning DBA, I thoguht it's worth mentionaing that SVRMGRL is for Oracle8i; For Oracle 7.1.4 the name will be something slightly different (SVRMGR32 ?)

    - Rajeev
    [/B][/QUOTE]
    Ah, good point, svrmgrl came in around 7.3. You might have to use sqldba lmode=yes instead of svrmgrl.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    31

    Wink

    Hi DBAs,
    Thanks so much for your replies. I feel so lucky that i know this web site. Again, thanks for helping me.


    Jn1971 :)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width