Am not able to see SGA_MAX_SIZE parameter in Pfile.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Am not able to see SGA_MAX_SIZE parameter in Pfile.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11

    Exclamation Am not able to see SGA_MAX_SIZE parameter in Pfile.

    I'm not able to see the parameter SGA_MAX_SIZE in pfile. Will it lead to any problem or do i need to manually add that parameter in pfile.

    I copied the pfile from spfile.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    No, it will not. It won't show up when you create pfile from spfile.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    1.Should i need to add SGA_MAX_SIZE in pfile or its not required?

    2. I'm unable to configure the value of large_pool_size dynamically. The system is getting altered but the changes are not getting stored while executing the statement SQL> show parameter large_pool_size i'm able to see the old value only. I started the DB using spfile.

    3. create tablespace market
    datafile '/opt/oracle/oradata/ARM/datafile1.dbf' size 1000M
    extent management dictionary
    default storage (INITIAL 100k NEXT 200k MINEXTENTS 2 MAXEXTENTS 60
    PCTINCREASE 50);

    While executing the above statement.. i'm getting the error 'cannot create dictionary managed tablespace'.

    What could be the reason behind.?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7
    check your system tablespace management if it is locally managed then you can't create the dictionary managed tablespace in your database.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    1. you don't need to add sga_max_size in the pfile.

    2. if you are using ASMM by setting sga_target parameter then large_pool_size will be maintained by Oracle.

    3. in 10g SYSTEM tablespace by default create as LMTS. So you can't create any other user tablespace in DMTS.

    why do you want to create DMTS? LMTS is the recommended method by Oracle. Any specific reason for DMTS requirement?

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Vijay for the prompt answers...

    There is not specific reason for creating DMTS. Just checking whether this functionality works or not.. more over i'm not using 10G.. i'm using only 9i.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    okay, then you can't use ASMM feature. You need to manually set the memory for each pool.

    Set the memory for large pool in pfile and start the instance with pfile or you can use alter system ... scope=both.

    Before that please check how much total memory you have for instance and make sure that you have enough free memory to assign to large pool.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width