Schema export with huge tables
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Schema export with huge tables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Schema export with huge tables

    Hi Friends,

    details are as follows
    database: oracle 10g

    I need to create test schema from our production schema .

    For me the issue is table size as some of the transaction tables are quite huge and we need only sample data in our test schema.

    total tables - 3350
    maintenace tables - 500
    transaction tables - 2580

    In my export i need all rows for the 500 maintenance tables and from transaction tables i need say 100 records (only sample).

    Can anybody help me in suggesting the easiest way to do this.


    Thanks,
    Nibu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    check query= parameter
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    Hi PAVB -

    Just curious know how to unload 100 rows from each table for 2580 tables. Does we need to write Query = table:xxxxxx 2580 times??

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    look up the exp tool in the manuals, you can see what query does

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,443

    Cool SAMPLE'r

    Or check out the Datapump SAMPLE option.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    I have that minimum common sense Davey. I am trying to find what makes PAVB to suggest for query parameter. I am trying to find if he has any example in his mind.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    well you query on what you want to query one, its just an sql query

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA View Post
    Or check out the Datapump SAMPLE option.
    Clever!
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    You can put a "where rownum <101" in your export parfile, not real flexible but it might do the trick for those tables.
    I remember when this place was cool.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width