DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dbms_workload_repository.create_snapshot()

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222

    Question dbms_workload_repository.create_snapshot()

    Hi. I want to run the dbms_workload_repository.create_snapshot() at 2 minute intervals instead of the 60 minute default setting. I am having difficulty locating the code. Where do I make this change ? Is it in a procedure or in the job system ? Please advise. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    349
    BEGIN
    DBMS_WORKLOAD_REPOSITORY.modify_snapshot_settings(
    retention => 43200, -- Minutes (= 30 Days). Current value retained if NULL.
    interval => 2); -- Minutes. Current value retained if NULL.
    END;
    http://www.perf-engg.com
    A performance engineering forum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222
    Thx for your info.

    I noticed that our setting has the following:

    PROCEDURE modify_snapshot_settings(retention IN NUMBER DEFAULT NULL,
    interval IN NUMBER DEFAULT NULL,
    topnsql IN NUMBER DEFAULT NULL,
    dbid IN NUMBER DEFAULT NULL
    );

    A snapshot appears to be taken every hour. How can this be based on the above procedure ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    349
    Are you guys executing it through crontab then?
    http://www.perf-engg.com
    A performance engineering forum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222
    No we are not running it through a crontab or in DBA_JOBS.
    I believe that in 10g, this feature is new and by default executes every hour. Where dooes it get executed ? It does not appear to be in dba_jobs ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    57
    It appears in database job scheduler tasks.
    Thanks and Regards,
    Gitesh Trivedi
    Dbametrix Solutions
    Database DBA support

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    222
    In dba_scheduler_jobs view, I have the following jobs:

    PURGE_LOG
    FGR$AUTOPURGE_JOB
    GATHER_STATS_JOB
    AUTO_SPACE_ADVISOR_JOB
    MGMT_CONFIG_JOB
    MGMT_STATS_CONFIG_JOB

    I do not see anything related to dbms_workload_repository_snapshot. However, the job is executed every hour. How could this be ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    have you tried changing from OEM DBC or GC what ever you have?

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    21
    This job is enabled by default

    exec dbms_scheduler.enable('GATHER_STATS_JOB')
    and disable by exec dbms_scheduler.disable('GATHER_STATS_JOB')
    DBA_HIST_WR_CONTROL - To see the snapshot interval and retention period
    dba_hist_snapshot -Display a list of snapshots
    Last edited by Rayyah; 11-22-2009 at 11:52 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width