Export/Import issues
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Export/Import issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Export/Import issues

    I am attempting to export a table,change a couple of data types the import the table. I am getting variuos errors (on the import) Oracle 1401,ORACLE 2298. What I think I need to do is export the data,drop the table, run script to recreate the table with the changes to the data type then import the data only. What setting in IMPORT allows you to only imort the data?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,476

    Talking Ignore it?

    Try:

    IGNORE=Y
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    and if you are using impdp then ...

    table_exists_action=ignore

    also need to double check the data type changes. if you reduce the value for ex. varchar2(20) to varchar2(10) import will fail.

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    I have that in the import script already.
    imp adbase/adbase@alan file=110909.dmp ignore=y fromuser=adbase commit=y constraints=n destroy=n buffer=10240000 log=ADBASE_IMP_AOADORD.log

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    I am changing the data type from FLOAT(126) to VARCHAR(20) would that cause a problem?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    what is the max length or the column with float data type?

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Not sure how to determine that

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    select length from ;

    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    865
    select length (float_data_type_column_name) from table_name;
    Thanks,
    Vijay Tummala

    Try hard to get what you like OR you will be forced to like what you get.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Looks like 15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width