How to drop hidden parameter from spfile using alter system command?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to drop hidden parameter from spfile using alter system command?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620

    How to drop hidden parameter from spfile using alter system command?

    Hi Guys,

    I have a hidden parameter _push_join_union_view set to FALSE in the spfile.

    Now, I want to drop this parameter completely from the spfile.

    How do I do that with the alter system command. I tried following but does not work.

    alter system set _push_join_union_view=NULL scope=spfile;

    alter system set "_push_join_union_view"=NULL scope=spfile;

    alter system set '_push_join_union_view'=NULL scope=spfile

    alter system set _push_join_union_view='' scope=spfile

    alter system set '_push_join_union_view'='' scope=spfile

    alter system set "_push_join_union_view"='' scope=spfile

    Pl. help.

    Thanks in Advance
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    alter system reset .....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    322
    The parameters can't be dropped. They can be reset to a default value.
    lucky

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Hi,

    Ours is a Non-RAC environment. But, still following statement worked.

    alter system reset "_push_join_union_view" scope=spfile sid='*';

    I wonder if there are any other alternates available.

    Thanks,

    Sam
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    why an alternate to the command that does what is supposed to do?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk View Post
    why an alternate to the command that does what is supposed to do?
    The above command is supposed to be for RAC system and ours is Non-RAC system. So, I am wondering if there is a similar command for Non-RAC system as well.

    Thanks for your help.
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by samdba View Post
    The above command is supposed to be for RAC system
    ... who told you that?
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by samdba View Post
    The above command is supposed to be for RAC system and ours is Non-RAC system. So, I am wondering if there is a similar command for Non-RAC system as well.

    Thanks for your help.

    totally not true at all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width