Catalog command??
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Catalog command??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    96

    Thumbs up Catalog command??

    Is there any command similar to catalog a file when not using control file...i mean will the catalog command work if we donot have catalog database configured...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,021
    So this is an rman question? Whether or not you use a repository for rman, backup information gets kept in the control file. The amount of information depends the setting of control_file_record_keep_time in the database.
    this space intentionally left blank

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    96

    Angry

    Well i think the question was totally misunderstood by you...My question was purely RMAN question..well let me ask it again


    While we are using catalog database we can use catalog command to register a file into RMAN catalog.

    My question is wheteher there is similar way to register the files into control file.
    Well say suppose the file is backup of archivelog taken by rman.How to register it??????????????

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    21
    Another way to catalog in rman is use crosscheck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,021
    Quote Originally Posted by Mohith123 View Post
    Well i think the question was totally misunderstood by you...My question was purely RMAN question..well let me ask it again


    While we are using catalog database we can use catalog command to register a file into RMAN catalog.

    My question is wheteher there is similar way to register the files into control file.
    Well say suppose the file is backup of archivelog taken by rman.How to register it??????????????
    While crosscheck will check to see which backups are still available, what files exactly do you want to register into the RMAN catalog? You still leave me with the impression that you don't yet completely understand RMAN.
    this space intentionally left blank

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4
    yes .. u can use catalog command without catalog database and with controlfile only

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    96
    Well gandolf theres no point in arguing whether i know rman or not....I am 100% sure and with confidence i say that you havent understood my question....I will explain once again


    I have backup of archive log taken by rman and say that its name is rman_arch_back*
    ad say i took it on 1st of June.I am not using Recovery catalog...

    Suppose on July 1st i want to recover database till June 1st 2:00PM then i need to restore 30th May backup so the control file restored will be of 30th>Now i need to register rman_arch_back* to recover till June 1st 2:00PM .....how can be this done..???

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    with the alter database register logfile command, although dont even need to do that, you just specify the file to recover - basic recovery techniques

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    96

    Smile



    Even i know that you can register a single archive log file by the command which you mentioned but what i am asking is how to register a file if it is backup of achivelog taken by RMAN...i hope you are able to get what i am trying to convey....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    322
    hanji this will work..
    Actually u r confusing the "catalog" word in the command with recovery catalog.
    U r probably thinking that the when we r cataloging an OS backed datafile or archivelog, then we must have recovery catalog. But this is not the case. When we catalog a datafile or archivelog, then such information is first stored in controlfile and is then propagated to recovery catalog.

    I suppose that I have got ur question rightly.
    lucky

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width