Procedure execution doubt
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Procedure execution doubt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    59

    Procedure execution doubt

    how to accept values from the user when i'm executing the procedure.

    for eg:
    if user selects a value of 1 from the given menu, procedure has to accept five values(input), if user selects the choice of 2 the procedure should accept two values. how to achieve this... ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    well what are the users seeing on their screen?

    sqlplus?
    some web app?

    what?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    59
    thanks for replying dave....


    its sqlplus ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,483

    Thumbs down Bad, bad, ...., and bad.

    Regular users should not be using sqlplus, but rather some other user interface. If there is none, you should develop maybe a quick APEX application or such.

    If these are "power" users, they should already know how to code sqlplus parameters and variables.

    Anyway you should maybe read about sqlplus variables in the fine Oracle SQL*PlusŪ User's Guide and Reference.
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    59
    thanx for your reply guys, i'm developing one student project which does not involves any applications, i'm not using forms or any API, just we are using plain plsql packages and procedures to brief our students.

    We are doing a simple bank project
    where we have modules viz., withdraw,deposit,account opening, and so on.

    I wrote individual procedures for all these modules, but then i need to prompt users for giving inputs.

    for eg, in one module we will have all the menus

    like 1. account opening

    2. withdraw

    3. deposit and so on..

    so when the users selects 1 from the menu it would execute account opening procedure which in turn would have to accept some values during execution from the user, for eg Execute withdraw; it should accept two values account number and amount, and all this should go on without user intervention. in other words the user is permitted to enter values and get the respective output. looking forward for your inputs!! thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,027
    You might be able to use access to call the pl/sql code.
    this space intentionally left blank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,483

    Talking Great!

    Quote Originally Posted by gandolf989 View Post
    You might be able to use access to call the pl/sql code.
    Good idea! Reminded me of some quick "Access" front-end we developed some years ago...
    .
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width