Automated stats gathering
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Automated stats gathering

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    110

    Automated stats gathering

    10g has our auto stats collection. But how do you know if it running. Is there a table to check apart from last_analyzed from user/dba_tables?

    thanks
    Looking for the greatest evil in the world? Look in the mirror.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,458

    Cool Em Statistics Management

    Enterprise Manager-> Administration-> Statistics Management-> Manage Optimizer Statistics
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by LKBrwn_DBA View Post
    Enterprise Manager-> Administration-> Statistics Management-> Manage Optimizer Statistics
    Thanks...but this is assuming you have EM. Is there any table/feature to check right off the database/sqlplus?
    Looking for the greatest evil in the world? Look in the mirror.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you already said it yourself, user/dba_tables

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Check dba_scheduler_jobs

    Regards

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,458

    Cool But you do have EM

    Quote Originally Posted by Tuma View Post
    Thanks...but this is assuming you have EM. Is there any table/feature to check right off the database/sqlplus?
    EM is included in all 10g+ databases, just install it:
    Code:
    $ emca -config dbcontrol db -repos create
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    110
    [QUOTE=LKBrwn_DBA;260701]EM is included in all 10g+ databases, just install it:
    Code:
    $ emca -config dbcontrol db -repos create
    QUOTE]
    Does this need to be licensed?
    Looking for the greatest evil in the world? Look in the mirror.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuma View Post
    Does this need to be licensed?
    Did you check Oracle Licensing? -guess not, here http://www.oracle.com/corporate/pricing/pricelists.html
    Pablo (Paul) Berzukov

    Author of Understanding Database Administration available at amazon and other bookstores.

    Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width